Missouri Women's Council

PO Box 1684
Jefferson City, MO 65102

Phone: (573)-751-0810
Fax: (573)-522-5005

Email: wcouncil@ded.mo.gov
Website: http://www.womenscouncil.org/

Director: Kellie Ann Coats

Details on Board or Commission

Authority: RSMo 186.007

Department: Economic Development

Mission: The Missouri Women's Council provides leadership to bring the changes necessary to achieve economic equality for women. Their vision is to see Missouri women achieving their full potential.

Function: The Missouri Women's Council promotes and increases women's economic and employment opportunities through education and training; occupational mobility; non-traditional careers; promoting women in small business; access to managerial jobs; and support service for families, such as child care.

SubCommittees: Project Management Committee Marketing Committee Foundation Committee

Details on Meetings

Number of meetings: 4 meetings; 4 committee meetings

Location of meetings: Jefferson City, Kansas City, St. Louis, Springfield, or Lake of the Ozarks

Duration of meetings: 2 days

Preparation time for meetings: 1 hour

Total time commitment: 4 hours

Details on Members

Total members: 15

Appointed members: 11

Term length: 3 years

Compensation: Members receive reimbursement for realized and necessary expenses.

Member Requirements: 1 member is designated chair by the Governor; 2 members must be members of the House of Representatives; 2 members must be members of the Senate

Political Requirements: Yes - not more than 6 members appointed by the Governor may be members of the same political party

Geographic Requirements: no

Senate Consent Required: Yes


Mrs. Catherine Crum Thompson(I)
Governor's Appointee 1
Jefferson City
Term begins: Apr 1, 2011
Term expires: Dec 6, 2013

Ms. Norma Nisbet(I)
Governor's Appointee 2
St. Louis
Term begins: Dec 14, 2009
Term expires: Dec 6, 2011

Vacant Slot
Governor's Appointee 3

Ms. Elizabeth Kay Miller(I)
Governor's Appointee 4
Term begins: Oct 27, 2017
Term expires: Dec 6, 2018

Ms. Karen Thornton(R)
Governor's Appointee 5
Sunrise Beach
Term begins: Apr 18, 2008
Term expires: Dec 6, 2009

Ms. Melodee E. Colbert-Kean(D)
Governor's Appointee 6
Term begins: Mar 31, 2010
Term expires: Dec 6, 2011

Mrs. Janet M. Bandera(R)
Governor's Appointee 7
O Fallon
Term begins: Apr 23, 2008
Term expires: Dec 6, 2010

Vacant Slot
Governor's Appointee 8

Vacant Slot
Governor's Appointee 9

Ms. Jacqueline Coleman(D)
Governor's Appointee 10
Jefferson City
Term begins: Mar 9, 2010
Term expires: Dec 6, 2011

Ms. Donayle Whitmore-Smith(D)
Governor's Appointee 11
St. Louis
Term begins: Jan 31, 2006
Term expires: Dec 6, 2008

Representative Genise Montecillo
Member of the Missouri House of Representatives 1

Representative Marsha Haefner
Member of the Missouri House of Representatives 2

Vacant Slot
Member of the Missouri Senate 1

Senator Shalonn Kiki Curls
Member of the Missouri Senate 2