State Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors

3605 Missouri Boulevard
PO Box 423
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0423

Phone: (573)-751-0813
Fax: (573)-751-1155


Director: Patty Faenger

Details on Board or Commission

Authority: RSMo 333.151

Department: Commerce and Insurance

Mission: The Missouri State Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors protects the public from incompetence, misconduct, gross negligence, fraud, misrepresentation or dishonesty; licenses only "qualified" professionals by examination and evaluation of minimum competency; and enforces standards by implementing legislation and administrative rules.

Function: The Missouri State Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors is charged with the responsibility of licensing embalmers, funeral directors, and funeral establishments, preneed providers, preneed sellers; and registers preneed agents and preneed agent funeral directors and regulates these professions in accordance with the provisions of statute.

SubCommittees: None

Details on Meetings

Number of meetings: 4-6 meetings

Location of meetings: Kansas City, St. Louis, Springfield, Lake of the Ozarks, Columbia, Jefferson City

Duration of meetings: 1-2 days

Preparation time for meetings: 2 days

Total time commitment: 72 hours

Details on Members

Total members: 6

Appointed members: 6

Term length: 5 years

Compensation: Members receive a per diem not to exceed $50 for each day devoted to the affairs of the board and reimbursement for realized and necessary expenses.

Member Requirements: 5 members must be embalmers and/or funeral directors; 1 must be a public member. Each member, other than the public member, appointed shall possess either a license to practice embalming or a license to practice funeral directing in this state or both said licenses and shall have been actively engaged in the practice of embalming or funeral directing for a period of five years next before his or her appointment. Each member shall be a United States citizen, a resident of this state for a period of at least one year, a qualified voter of this state and shall be of good moral character. All members, including public members, shall be chosen from lists submitted by the director of the division of professional registration.

Political Requirements: Yes, not more than 3 members may be members of the same political party

Geographic Requirements: None

Senate Consent Required: Yes


Mr. Andrew T. Moore(R)
Member 1
Poplar Bluff
Term begins: Sep 28, 2018
Term expires: Apr 1, 2023

Mr. Brandon Henry(D)
Member 2
St. Louis
Term begins: Jun 28, 2022
Term expires: Apr 1, 2024

Mr. Joshua Engram Ford(R)
Member 3
Cape Girardeau
Term begins: Jun 28, 2022
Term expires: Apr 1, 2025

Mr. Taylor Howe(R)
Member 4
Term begins: Jun 28, 2022
Term expires: Apr 1, 2026

Mr. Kasey W. Griffin(D)
Member 5
Ash Grove
Term begins: Jun 28, 2022
Term expires: Apr 1, 2027

Vacant Slot
Public Member