Clean Water Commission

PO Box 176
Jefferson City, MO 65102

Phone: (573)-751-6721
Fax: (573)-526-1146


Director: Chris Wieberg - Director

Details on Board or Commission

Authority: RSMo 644.021

Department: Natural Resources

Mission: The Clean Water Commission conserves the water of the state and protects, maintains, and improves the quality thereof for public water supplies and for domestic, agricultural, industrial, recreation, and other legitimate beneficial uses and for the propagation of wildlife, fish, and aquatic life.

Function: The Clean Water Commission adopts regulations and policies to carry out planning, monitoring, permitting, enforcement, and grant assistance activities to carry out the objectives of the Clean Water Law; hears and resolves appeals of permits and staff decisions; and directs the use of state construction grant and loan funds.

SubCommittees: none

Details on Meetings

Number of meetings: at least 6 meetings

Location of meetings: varying locations

Duration of meetings: 3/4 day; also site visits

Preparation time for meetings: 4-6 hours

Total time commitment: 60+ hours annually

Details on Members

Total members: 7

Appointed members: 7

Term length: 4 years

Compensation: Members receive reimbursement for realized and necessary expenses.

Member Requirements: all members must represent the general interest of the public; members must have an interest in and knowledge of conservation and the effects and control of water contaminants; 2 members must be knowledgeable concerning the needs of agriculture, industry or mining and interested in protecting these needs consistent with the Clean Water Law

Political Requirements: yes - No more than four of the members shall belong to the same political party

Geographic Requirements: no

Senate Consent Required: Yes


Mr. Neal Bredehoeft(R)
Public Member 1
Term begins: Mar 5, 2020
Term expires: Apr 12, 2022

J. Allen Rowland(R)
Public Member 2
Term begins: Aug 30, 2018
Term expires: Apr 12, 2022

Ms. Pat Thomas(R)
Public Member 3
Jefferson City
Term begins: Aug 30, 2018
Term expires: Apr 12, 2022

Vacant Slot
Public Member 4

Ms. Ashley McCarty(D)
Rep from Agriculture, Industry, or Mining 1
Term begins: Dec 2, 2020
Term expires: Apr 12, 2024

Mr. Stan Coday(R)
Rep from Agriculture, Industry, or Mining 2
Term begins: Dec 2, 2020
Term expires: Apr 12, 2024

Mr. John Dennis Reece(D)
Waste Water Treatment Member
Lee's Summit
Term begins: Apr 6, 2017
Term expires: Apr 12, 2019