Missouri Ethics Commission

PO Box 1254
Jefferson City, MO 65109

Phone: (573)-751-2020
Fax: (573)-526-4506

Email: helpdesk@mec.mo.gov
Website: https://mec.mo.gov/MEC/Educational_Resources/About.aspx

Director: Elizabeth L. Ziegler - Executive Director

Details on Board or Commission

Authority: RSMo 105.955

Department: Office of Administration


Function: The Missouri Ethics Commission receives and reviews complaints alleging violations of the conflict of interest and lobbying statutes and the campaign finance disclosure statute. After investigation of these complaints, the commission refers the complaints to the appropriate prosecuting authority or disciplinary authority along with recommendations for sanctions. The commission may also initiate judicial proceedings on its own. The commission reviews and audits reports required by the campaign finance disclosure law, the financial interest disclosure laws and the lobbying registration and reporting laws. The commission acts as the public repository for such reports. The commission provides information and assistance to lobbyists, elected and appointed officials, employees of the state and political subdivisions and the general public.

SubCommittees: none

Details on Meetings

Number of meetings: approximately once every 6 weeks with conference calls as needed

Location of meetings: Jefferson City

Duration of meetings: 1 day

Preparation time for meetings: 8 hours

Total time commitment: 16 hours

Details on Members

Total members: 6

Appointed members: 6

Term length: 4 years-Terms of successor members of the commission shall expire on March fifteenth of the fourth year of their term. No member of the commission shall serve on the commission after the expiration of the member's term. No person shall be appointed to more than one full four-year term on the commission.

Compensation: Members receive a per diem not to exceed $100 for each day devoted to the affairs of the board.

Member Requirements: no member of the commission, while a member and one year thereafter, may be employed by the state or by a political subdivision, be employed as a lobbyist, serve on any other governmental board or commission, be an officer in any political party, or make contributions in support of or opposition to any candidate or proposition

Political Requirements: yes, not more than 3 members may be members of the same political party

Geographic Requirements: Members must represent each congressional district. Not more than 2 from the same political party can represent odd- numbered congressional districts; not more than 2 from the same political party can represent even-numbered congressional districts.

Senate Consent Required: Yes


Mr. Robert C. Cook(R) Chair
Even Congressional District 1
Term begins: Apr 8, 2020
Term expires: Mar 15, 2024

Ms. Helene Frischer(D) Vice-Chair
Even Congressional District 2
Term begins: Jun 1, 2020
Term expires: Mar 15, 2024

William Villapiano(R)
Even Congressional District 3
Term begins: May 24, 2022
Term expires: Mar 15, 2024

Ms. Kathie Conway(R)
Odd Congressional District 1
Saint Charles
Term begins: May 24, 2022
Term expires: Mar 15, 2026

Vacant Slot
Odd Congressional District 2

Vacant Slot
Odd Congressional District 3