Elevator Safety Board

P. O. Box 844
Jefferson City, MO 65102

Phone: (573)-751-2263
Phone 2: (800)-877-5688
Fax: (573)-526-5971

Email: elevator@dfs.dps.mo.gov
Website: http://www.dfs.dps.mo.gov/programs/elevators

Details on Board or Commission

Authority: RSMo 701.353

Department: Public Safety

Mission: The Elevator Safety Board promotes safety in construction, installation, maintenance, repair and inspection of elevators, dumbwaiters, escalators, material lifts and inclined hoistway enclosures.

Function: The Elevator Safety Board develops and interprets elevator statutes and rules; promulgates rules, and certifies elevator inspectors. Building officials administer elevator regulation in cities of at least 350,000 people.

SubCommittees: N/A

Details on Meetings

Number of meetings: At least four meetings

Location of meetings: Jefferson City

Duration of meetings: Two to six hours

Preparation time for meetings: Two to six hours

Total time commitment: Six hours

Details on Members

Total members: 11

Appointed members: 10

Term length: Five years

Compensation: Members receive a per diem not to exceed $89 for each day devoted to the affairs of the board.

Member Requirements: Two members must represent labor in the elevator industry; two members must represent manufacturers of elevators used in Missouri; one member must be an architect or mechanical engineer; one must represent building owners; two must represent building officials administrating elevator regulation in cities of at least 350,000 people; one must represent the disabled community and be familiar with FADA; one must represent special inspectors; and one must be the Director of the Department of Public Safety

Political Requirements: Yes - No more than six members of the board, who are not employees of state or local government, shall be members of the same political party.

Geographic Requirements: No

Senate Consent Required: Yes


Director Sandra K. Karsten
director of the department of public safety
Jefferson City

Mr. John P. Orr(D)
interests of labor 1
St Charles
Term begins: Sep 7, 2007
Term expires: Jun 6, 2010

Mr. Jim Henry Chapman(D)
interests of labor 2
Grain Valley
Term begins: Feb 19, 2015
Term expires: Jun 6, 2015

Mr. Craig S. Jones(R)
manufacturers 1
Term begins: Jun 1, 2023
Term expires: Jun 6, 2025

Vacant Slot
manufacturers 2

Vacant Slot
architect or mechanical engineer

Mr. Thomas Corso(R)
owners of buildings
Saint Joseph
Term begins: Apr 10, 2006
Term expires: Jun 6, 2010

Vacant Slot
building officials 1

Mr. Gregory Eldridge(R)
building officials/responsibility for administering elevator regulations 2
Kansas City
Term begins: Jun 1, 2023
Term expires: Jun 6, 2025

Vacant Slot
rep. of disabled community familiar w/ the provisions of the Federal Americans with Disabilities Act

Mr. Gregory J. Sacks(R)
special inspectors
Term begins: Jun 1, 2023
Term expires: Jun 6, 2026