Dam and Reservoir Safety Council

PO Box 250
Rolla, MO 65402-0250

Phone: (573)-368-2175
Fax: (573)-368-2193

Email: mowaters@dnr.mo.gov
Website: http://dnr.mo.gov/geology/wrc/dam-safety/dam_res_council.htm

Details on Board or Commission

Authority: RSMo 236.410

Department: Natural Resources

Mission: The Dam and Reservoir Safety Council enforces the provisions of the Missouri Dam and Reservoir Safety Law, Rules and Regulations, performs a statewide program of inspection of regulated dams over 35 ft. in height, ensures that all new dam construction meets minimum safety standards, and monitors the upgrading and operation of existing dams and reservoirs in a manner which will provide adequate protection of public safety, life, and property.

Function: The Dam and Reservoir Safety Council was created for the regulation of dams and reservoir safety. The Council is responsible for adopting general technical guidelines and the standards, guidelines, rules and regulations applicable to permits; and for carrying out a state program of inspection of dams and reservoirs in accordance with regulations adopted by the Council.

SubCommittees: none

Details on Meetings

Number of meetings: 4 meetings

Location of meetings: varying locations

Duration of meetings: 4 to 6 hours

Preparation time for meetings: 3 to 5 hours

Total time commitment: 8 to 12 hours

Details on Members

Total members: 7

Appointed members: 7

Term length: 2 years

Compensation: Members receive reimbursement for realized and necessary expenses.

Member Requirements: 2 members must be professional engineers; 1 must be an earthmoving contractor; 1 must be an engineering geologist; 1 must be an industry representative; 1 must represent the general public; and 1 must be a dam owner

Political Requirements: yes, not more than 4 members shall be members of the same political party

Geographic Requirements: no

Senate Consent Required: Yes


Mr. Jeffrey Cawlfield(D)
Engineering Geologist
Term begins: Sep 15, 2009
Term expires: Apr 3, 2011

Ms. Kimberly Dickerson(R)
Industry Representative
Term begins: Oct 13, 2009
Term expires: Apr 3, 2010

Mr. Kyle W. Drury(R)
Industry Representing Earthmoving
Term begins: Feb 24, 2010
Term expires: Apr 3, 2010

Mr. Eric J. Dove(R)
Member representing the Public
Term begins: Jul 1, 2021
Term expires: Apr 3, 2023

Vacant Slot
Owner of a Dam or Reservoir

Mr. Daniel Buxton(D)
Prof. Engineer Represent the Public
Term begins: Feb 24, 2010
Term expires: Apr 3, 2011

Mr. David Hamilton(D)
Professional Engineer Member
Term begins: Apr 13, 2007
Term expires: Apr 3, 2009