Appellate Judicial Commission

Post Office Box 150
Jefferson City, MO 65102

Phone: (573)-751-4144
Fax: (573)-751-7514


Director: Chair – The Honorable Mary R. Russell - Chief Justice, Supreme Court of Missouri

Details on Board or Commission

Authority: Article 5, Section 25d

Department: Supreme Court


Function: The Appellate Judicial Commission accepts applications, and selects three candidates, to fill judicial vacancies on the Supreme Court and the Court of Appeals--without regard to political affiliation. The governor can only appoint one of the three candidates. The seven-member commission consists of a Supreme Court judge and two resident citizens from each of the three court of appeals districts. In selecting the citizen members, one lawyer is elected from each district by The Missouri Bar members in that district, and one non-lawyer appointed from each district by the governor.

SubCommittees: none

Details on Meetings

Number of meetings: as needed, when a judicial vacancy occurs on the Missouri Court of Appeals or on the Supreme Court

Location of meetings: varying locations; usually in district where vacancy occurs (St. Louis, Springfield, or Kansas City)

Duration of meetings: 1 to 2 days to interview applicants and select panel

Preparation time for meetings: varying

Total time commitment: varying; average 3 days every 6 months

Details on Members

Total members: 7

Appointed members: 3

Term length: chair, 2 years; others, 6 years

Compensation: Members receive reimbursement for realized and necessary expenses.

Member Requirements: 1 member must be the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Missouri and serve as chair; 3 must be lawyers elected by other members of the Missouri Bar; and 3 must be non-lawyers appointed by the Governor

Political Requirements: no

Geographic Requirements: yes, one lawyer member and one non-lawyer member must be from each district of the Court of Appeals (Eastern, Southern, and Western)

Senate Consent Required: No


The Honorable Mary R. Russell
judge of the supreme court selected by the members of the supreme court
Term begins: Jul 1, 2023
Term expires: Jun 30, 2025

Mr. Thomas K. Neill
Eastern District Lawyer
Term expires: Dec 31, 2023

Mr. Neil Chanter
Southern District Lawyer
Term expires: Dec 31, 2025

Mr. Kirk R. Presley
Western District Lawyer
Term expires: Dec 31, 2027

Mr. Timothy M. Drury
Eastern District Citizen
Term begins: Aug 23, 2019
Term expires: Dec 31, 2024

Ms. Sally Hargis
Southern District Citizen
Term begins: Jan 4, 2021
Term expires: Dec 31, 2026

Ms. Connie J. Cierpiot
Western District Citizen
Lee's Summit
Term begins: Apr 6, 2023
Term expires: Dec 31, 2028