Air Conservation Commission

PO Box 176
Jefferson City, MO 65102

Phone: (573)-751-7840
Fax: (573)-751-2706


Director: Stephen M. Hall

Details on Board or Commission

Authority: RSMo 643.040

Department: Natural Resources

Mission: The Missouri Air Conservation Commission is directed by the Air Law to maintain purity of the air resources of the state; to protect the health, general welfare and physical property of the people; and to maintain employment and promote the full industrial development of the state.

Function: The Missouri Air Conservation Commission adopts rules; prescribes air quality standards; requires tests, monitoring, and reporting of equipment and emissions; decides appeals from orders and actions of the department; issues orders and decisions to implement the Air Law; refers cases to litigation; settles suits; compels investigations; secures technical services by contract; and classifies and identifies air contaminants.

SubCommittees: none

Details on Meetings

Number of meetings: 9 meetings

Location of meetings: varying locations

Duration of meetings: 1 to 2 hours

Preparation time for meetings: 1 hour

Total time commitment: 20 - 30 hours annually

Details on Members

Total members: 7

Appointed members: 7

Term length: 4 years

Compensation: Members receive reimbursement for realized and necessary expenses.

Member Requirements: All members must represent the general interest of the public and have an interest in and knowledge of conservation and the effects and control of air contaminants; 1 members must represent agriculture, 1 must represent industrial interests, and 1 must represent labor interests

Political Requirements: Yes, not more than 4 members may belong to the same political party

Geographic Requirements: Yes, no members may represent the same senatorial district

Senate Consent Required: Yes


Mr. Kevin Rosenbohm(R)
Agriculture Representative
Term begins: Feb 16, 2022
Term expires: Oct 14, 2025

Mr. Richard H. Rocha(R)
Industry Representative
Kansas City
Term begins: Apr 6, 2023
Term expires: Oct 13, 2026

Mr. Mark Fohey(D)
Labor Representative
Term begins: Oct 2, 2020
Term expires: Oct 13, 2024

Ms. Ericka Baxter(I)
Member 1
Term begins: Feb 16, 2022
Term expires: Oct 13, 2025

Mr. Gary Pendergrass(R)
Member 2
Term begins: Nov 23, 2006
Term expires: Oct 13, 2009

Vacant Slot
Member 3

Mr. Harry Thompson(R)
Member 4
Term begins: Feb 23, 2023
Term expires: Oct 13, 2024