Missouri Higher Education Loan Authority

633 Spirit Dr.
Chesterfield, MO 63005

Phone: (636)-532-0600
Phone 2: (888)-866-4352
Fax: (636)-787-2788

Email: rayb@mohela.com
Website: http://www.mohela.com

Director: Ray Bayer

Details on Board or Commission

Authority: RSMo 173.360

Department: Higher Education

Mission: The Missouri Higher Education Loan Authority's mission is to eliminate barriers for students so they can access higher education.

Function: The Missouri Higher Education Loan Authority's Board of Directors establishes organizational ends (desired outcomes), determines moral owners (beneficiaries), creates governing policies, including executive limitations, and monitors compliance with same. The Board also approves bond issues and appoints the Executive Director.

SubCommittees: Compensation Committee & Audit Committee

Details on Meetings

Number of meetings: 4-6 meetings

Location of meetings: Chesterfield; varying locations

Duration of meetings: 2-8 hours

Preparation time for meetings: 1 to 2 hours

Total time commitment: 2-4 hours

Details on Members

Total members: 7

Appointed members: 5

Term length: 5 years; members are eligible for re-appointment

Compensation: Members receive reimbursement for realized and necessary expenses.

Member Requirements: 2 members must represent higher education (1 public, 1 private); 2 must represent financial institutions; 1 must represent the general public; 1 must be the Commissioner of Higher Education; and 1 must be a member of the Coordinating Board for Higher Education

Political Requirements: no

Geographic Requirements: no

Senate Consent Required: Yes


Commissioner Zora Mulligan
Commissioner Higher Education

Mr. Douglas Ray Kennedy
Coordinating Bd. Member
Poplar Bluff

Mr. Jason Ramsey
Lending Institution Rep 1
Term begins: Sep 29, 2015
Term expires: Oct 22, 2017

Mr. Peter Wooldridge Detweiler
Lending Institution Rep 2
Term begins: Jan 6, 2015
Term expires: Oct 22, 2016

Mrs. Tonya Kay Grimm
Private Higher Ed. Inst. Rep
Term begins: Oct 27, 2017
Term expires: Oct 22, 2018

Mr. Marvin Wright
Public Higher Ed. Institution Rep
Term begins: Dec 11, 2015
Term expires: Oct 22, 2019

Ms. Melanie Rippetoe
Public Member
St. Louis
Term begins: Jan 3, 2012
Term expires: Oct 22, 2015