Coordinating Board for Early Childhood

205 Jefferson Street
Jefferson City, MO 65101

Phone: (573)-751-6793
Fax: (573)-526-9586


Details on Board or Commission

Authority: RSMo 210.102

Department: Social Services

Mission: Missouri’s ECE system is coordinated, accessible, adequately resourced and of high quality, designed to promote the well-being of young children and their families.


SubCommittees: Executive Committee; Early Care & Education Programs Workgroup; Early Childhood Mental Health Workgroup; Healthcare Workgroup; Home Visitation Workgroup

Details on Meetings

Number of meetings: 4 meetings a year in person in Jefferson City.

Location of meetings: Jefferson City/Conference Call

Duration of meetings: 5 hours

Preparation time for meetings:

Total time commitment: 20 - 40 hours a year

Details on Members

Total members: 17

Appointed members: 9

Term length: Members serve at pleasure of the Governor.

Compensation: Members of the board shall serve without compensation but may be reimbursed for actual expenses necessary to the performance of their official duties for the board.

Member Requirements: representatives of the groups, such as business, philanthropy, civic groups, faith-based organizations, parent groups, advocacy organizations, early childhood service providers, and other stakeholders

Political Requirements: No

Geographic Requirements: No

Senate Consent Required: Yes


Vacant Slot
representative from the governor's office

Ms. Nancy Scherer
represenative from the department of health and senior services

Ms. Kelly Dudley
represenative from the department of mental health

Mr. Justin Logan
represenative from the department of social services

Ms. Jo Anne Ralston
represenative from the department of elementary and secondary education

Vacant Slot
representative of the judiciary

Mr. William Dent
representative of the family and community trust board (FACT)

Mrs. Stacey Owsley Wright
representative from the head start program
Term begins: Jun 1, 2006

Dr. Valeri J. Lane
Member 1
Term begins: Jan 11, 2006

Dr. Shirley S. Patterson
Member 2
Term begins: Oct 26, 2011

Ms. Paula D. Knight
Member 3
Term begins: Sep 19, 2012

Vacant Slot
Member 4

Vacant Slot
Member 5

Vacant Slot
Member 6

Vacant Slot
Member 7

Vacant Slot
Member 8

Vacant Slot
Member 9