State Board of Education

PO Box 480
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0480

Phone: (573)-751-4446
Fax: (573)-751-1179


Details on Board or Commission

Authority: RSMo 161.022 and the Missouri Constitution Article IX, Education, Sections 2(a) and 2(b)

Department: Elementary and Secondary Education


Function: The State Board of Education appoints the commissioner of education to serve as its chief executive officer and director of the state education agency, the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; sets accreditation standards for local school districts, including minimum high school graduation standards and basic requirements for curriculum, staffing and student testing; establishes "academic performance standards" for public schools; sets education and certification requirements for all professional personnel in public schools (teachers, administrators, librarians, counselors); approves professional education programs in the state's community colleges and four-year colleges and universities, both public and private; and establishes regulations and administrative requirements for the distribution of state and federal funds to school districts.

SubCommittees: none

Details on Meetings

Number of meetings: 12 meetings

Location of meetings: Jefferson City; St. Louis or Kansas City; varying locations

Duration of meetings: 2 days

Preparation time for meetings: 25 hours

Total time commitment: 40 hours

Details on Members

Total members: 8

Appointed members: 8

Term length: 8 years

Compensation: Members receive a per diem not to exceed $25 for each day devoted to the affairs of the board.

Member Requirements: 8 members must be lay members

Political Requirements: yes, not more than 4 members may be members of the same political party

Geographic Requirements: yes, not more than 1 member may live in the same county or congressional district

Senate Consent Required: Yes


Mr. Michael Jones(D)
1st Congressional District
St. Louis
Term begins: Feb 14, 2011
Term expires: Jul 1, 2018

Dr. O. Victor Lenz(R)
2nd Congressional District
St. Louis
Term begins: Dec 6, 2013
Term expires: Jul 1, 2019

Donald M. Claycomb(I)
3rd Congressional District
Term begins: Aug 30, 2018
Term expires: Jul 1, 2021

Kimberly R. Bailey(R)
4th Congressional District
Term begins: Aug 30, 2018
Term expires: Jul 1, 2025

Mrs. Carol Marie Hallquist(D)
5th Congressional District
Kansas City
Term begins: Jun 12, 2018
Term expires: Jul 1, 2022

Senator Charles William Shields(R)
6th Congressional District
St. Joseph
Term begins: Aug 10, 2012
Term expires: Jul 1, 2020

Mr. Peter Herschend(R)
7th Congressional District
Term begins: Sep 20, 2018
Term expires: Jul 1, 2023

Vacant Slot
8th Congressional District