Missouri Charter Public School Commission

20 South Sarah Street
Saint Louis, MO 63108

Phone: (855)-267-7323

Email: info@mcpsc.mo.gov
Website: https://mcpsc.mo.gov/

Details on Board or Commission

Authority: RSMo. 160.425

Department: Elementary and Secondary Education

Mission: Founded as an agency that is fiercely independent, intentionally lean and passionately public, Missouri Charter Public School Commission’s mission is to actively increase the number of high-quality charter public schools in Missouri.

Function: The Commission meets its mission by: • Selecting quality applications to sponsor; • Preserving the school’s right to operate based on their charter application and subsequent legal agreement; • Protecting the public’s interest; and • Disseminating best and promising practices to Missouri’s public education sector

SubCommittees: Finance

Details on Meetings

Number of meetings: Monthly at least 10 times a year

Location of meetings: Varying Locations

Duration of meetings: 2-3 hours

Preparation time for meetings: 2-3 hours

Total time commitment: Between 35-45 hours a year

Details on Members

Total members: 9

Appointed members: 9

Term length: Four years, except for those members first appointed, of which three shall be appointed for a term of one year, two for a term of two years, two for a term of three years, and two for a term of four years.

Compensation: None

Member Requirements: Five commissioners will be selected from three-panel slates each recommended by the commissioner of education, the commission of higher education, the president pro tem, the speaker of the house, and the Missouri School Boards Association. The remaining four members shall be appointed by the Governor.

Political Requirements: No more than five members may be of the same political party.

Geographic Requirements: No more than two members shall be from the same congressional district.

Senate Consent Required: Yes


Vacant Slot
Member 1 (Department of Elementary and Secondary Education Slate)

Ms. Mary Jane Almandoz(R)
Member 2 (Department of Higher Education Slate)
Cape Girardeau
Term begins: Oct 2, 2019
Term expires: Sep 17, 2021

Ms. Alicia M. (nee Herald) Kotarba(D)
Member 3 (Speaker of the House Slate)
St. Louis
Term begins: Sep 17, 2014
Term expires: Sep 17, 2016

Mr. Delbert Lee Scott(R)
Member 4 (President Pro Tem Slate)
Lowry City
Term begins: Sep 17, 2014
Term expires: Sep 17, 2015

Mrs. Peggy Lea Taylor(I)
Member 5 (Missouri School Boards Association Slate)
Term begins: Sep 23, 2014
Term expires: Sep 17, 2018

Ms. Judith W. Meyer(I)
Member 6
St. Louis
Term begins: Aug 15, 2023
Term expires: Sep 17, 2026

Reverend Antoine R. Lee(D)
Member 7
Kansas City
Term begins: Sep 20, 2021
Term expires: Sep 17, 2025

Ms. Susan Cole(I)
Member 8
Webster Groves
Term begins: Feb 5, 2015
Term expires: Sep 17, 2016

Ms. Cathy Jo Loy(R)
Member 9
Term begins: Oct 2, 2019
Term expires: Sep 17, 2023