Missouri Health Facilities Review Committee

3418 Knipp Drive
P. O. Box 570
Jefferson City, MO 65102

Phone: (573)-751-6403
Fax: (573)-751-7894

Email: Karla.Houchins@health.mo.gov
Website: http://dhss.mo.gov/information/boards/certificateofneed/index.php

Director: Karla Houchins - Program Coordinator

Details on Board or Commission

Authority: RSMo 197.310

Department: Health and Senior Services

Mission: The Missouri Health Facilities Review Committee's mission is cost containment through health cost management, assurance of community need and the prevention of unnecessary duplication of health care services. Certificate of Need is based on a goal of public accountability through review of proposed health care services, value promotion, and negotiation among competing interests.

Function: The Missouri Health Facilities Review Committee administers the Certificate of Need statute.


Details on Meetings

Number of meetings: 6 Certificate of Need meetings; 1 Administrative Workshop

Location of meetings: Jefferson City

Duration of meetings: 4 hours each

Preparation time for meetings: 10 hours each

Total time commitment: 100 hours per year

Details on Members

Total members: 9

Appointed members: 5

Term length: 2 years

Compensation: Members receive reimbursement for realized and necessary expenses.

Member Requirements: 2 members must be members of the House of Representatives; 2 members must be members of the Senate; and 5 members are appointed by the Governor

Political Requirements: yes, not more than 3 gubernatorial appointees may be members of the same political party; House members and Senate members may not be of the same political party

Geographic Requirements: no

Senate Consent Required: Yes


Mr. Derek B. Hunter(R)
Member 1
Term begins: Jan 4, 2016
Term expires: Jan 1, 2018

The Honorable Judith Grace O'Connor(D)
Member 2
St. Charles
Term begins: Feb 19, 2014
Term expires: Jan 1, 2015

The Honorable Marsha Campbell(D)
Member 3
Kansas City
Term begins: Dec 21, 2011
Term expires: Jan 1, 2013

Dr. Marty Vollmar(R)
Member 4
Term begins: Dec 17, 2009
Term expires: Jan 1, 2011

Mr. William A. Krodinger(I)
Member 5
Term begins: Jul 29, 2010
Term expires: Jan 1, 2012

Representative Kip Kendrick
Member of the Missouri House of Representatives 1

Representative Jack Bondon
Member of the Missouri House of Representatives 2

Senator Mike Cunningham
Member of the Missouri Senate 1

Senator Shalonn Kiki Curls
Member of the Missouri Senate 2