Missouri Fire Safety Education / Advisory Commission

Missouri Division of Fire Safety
P. O. Box 844
Jefferson City, MO 65102

Phone: (573)-751-2930
Fax: (573)-751-5710

Email: firesafe@dfs.dps.mo.gov
Website: http://www.dfs.dps.mo.gov/programs/training/contract-swared.asp

Director: Tim Dorsey - Chairman

Details on Board or Commission

Authority: RSMo 320.094

Department: Public Safety

Mission: The Missouri Fire Safety Education / Advisory Commission works to provide training and continuing education to the fire service throughout Missouri.

Function: The Missouri Fire Safety Education / Advisory Commission reviews and determines appropriate programs and activities to be offered by the community colleges, colleges, regional training facilities, fire and emergency services training entities and universities of this state to provide training to Missouri’s firefighters and emergency responders.

SubCommittees: N/A

Details on Meetings

Number of meetings: Four meetings

Location of meetings: Division of Fire Safety-205 Jefferson Street – 13th Floor, Jefferson City, MO

Duration of meetings: Two to four hours

Preparation time for meetings: Two to four hours

Total time commitment: Four to eight hours

Details on Members

Total members: 9

Appointed members: 9

Term length: Four years

Compensation: Members receive reimbursement for actual and necessary expenses.

Member Requirements: Two members must be firefighters, with one serving as a volunteer of a recognized fire department and one serving as a full-time firefighter employed by a recognized fire department; two members shall be fire service training officers; one member shall be a person with expertise in fire investigation; one member shall be an insurer licensed to provide insurance coverage for losses due to fire; one member who provides fire safety appliances or equipment; one member who is serving as the chief of a recognized volunteer fire department; and one member serving as the full-time chief of a recognized paid fire department.

Political Requirements: Yes, no more than five members may be members of the same political party.

Geographic Requirements: No

Senate Consent Required: Yes


Mr. Michael Marlo(I)
Chief of a paid fire department
Term begins: Nov 10, 2011
Term expires: Apr 26, 2012

Mr. Gregory Brown(R)
Chief of a volunteer fire depart.
Term begins: Apr 26, 2008
Term expires: Apr 26, 2012

Mr. Robert Wylie(R)
Expertise in Fire Investigation
St. Peters
Term begins: Feb 9, 2012
Term expires: Feb 8, 2016

Mr. Timothy Dorsey(R)
Fire Service Training Officer 2
St. Charles
Term begins: Nov 29, 2011
Term expires: Nov 29, 2015

Vacant Slot
Firefighter training officer 1

Mr. Todd E Gray(I)
Full-time Firefighter w/ dept.
Term begins: Nov 29, 2011
Term expires: Apr 26, 2015

Vacant Slot
Licensed Insurer

Vacant Slot
Provider of Equipment

Mr. D. Alan Braun(I)
Volunteer Firefighter w/fire dept.
Jefferson City
Term begins: Mar 4, 2008
Term expires: Apr 26, 2011