Martin Luther King, Jr. State Celebration Commission

3026 Laclede Avenue HGA 108
St. Louis, MO 63103

Phone: (314)-340-3506


Details on Board or Commission

Authority: Executive Order 95-22

Department: Labor and Industrial Relations

Mission: To recommend and foster activities for the celebration of Martin Luther King Day

Function: The Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Celebration Commission considers and recommends to individuals and organizations appropriate activities for the recognition and celebration of Martin Luther King, Jr. Day in Missouri.

SubCommittees: Public Relations, Local Celebration, Brochure Publication, Fundraising, Statewide Celebration Networking Distribution

Details on Meetings

Number of meetings: 9 meetings (monthly, July to February)

Location of meetings: Varying locations, typically Harris-Stowe University or remote

Duration of meetings: 2 hours per meeting

Preparation time for meetings: 4 hours per meeting

Total time commitment: 36 hours plus Celebration events in January

Details on Members

Total members: 19

Appointed members: 19

Term length: Serve at the pleasure of Governor

Compensation: Members receive reimbursement for realized and necessary expenses.

Member Requirements: None - the Commission shall consist of ten individuals appointed by the Governor, as well as amend said orders to permit expansion of the Commission in the future at the discretion of the Governor

Political Requirements: No

Geographic Requirements: No

Senate Consent Required: No


The Honorable Emanuel Cleaver
Member 1
Kansas City
Term begins: Jan 15, 1993

Mr. Ollie Gates
Member 2
Kansas City
Term begins: Apr 16, 1993

Mr. Jack McBride
Member 3
Term begins: Apr 16, 1993

Mrs. Lessie Thompson
Member 4
Lees Summit
Term begins: Oct 16, 1997

Rev. Sammie Jones
Member 5
Term begins: Oct 16, 1997

Ms. Bertha Thomas
Member 6
Term begins: Jul 19, 2000

Ms. Charlotte Hardin
Member 7
Term begins: Jul 19, 2000

Dr. Michael Middleton
Member 8
Term begins: Aug 10, 2000

Reverend Earl Nance
Member 9
Term begins: Aug 24, 2000

Ms. Myrle Mensey
Member 10
St. Louis
Term begins: Jan 11, 2006

Ms. Ruth A. Smith
Member 11
Term begins: Dec 12, 2007

Ms. Sherry Maxwell
Member 12
Term begins: Oct 27, 2017

Mr. Earnest Hart
Member 13
Term begins: May 30, 2018

Dr. LaTonia Collins Smith
Member 14
Saint Louis
Term begins: Sep 27, 2019

Vacant Slot
Member 15

Vacant Slot
Member 16

Vacant Slot
Member 17

Vacant Slot
Member 18

Vacant Slot
Member 19