Minority and Underrepresented Environmental Literacy Program

205 Jefferson Street
PO Box 1469
Jefferson City, MO 65102-1469

Phone: (573)-751-2361
Fax: (573)-751-6635

Email: info@dhe.mo.gov
Website: http://www.dhe.mo.gov/mdhe/boardbook2content.jsp?id=647

Details on Board or Commission

Authority: RSMo 173.240

Department: Higher Education

Mission: The Minority and Underrepresented Environmental Literacy Program is to increase the number of minority and underrepresented students who are enrolled in environmentally related courses of study. Authority transferred to Department of Higher Education by Executive Order 09-09

Function: The advisory commission shall meet at least annually at a pre-designated time and place to select recipients of the Scholarship Fund, and to specify the amount to be awarded. The commission will review the program operations and will provide advice and recommendations as appropriate

SubCommittees: none

Details on Meetings

Number of meetings: At least annually

Location of meetings: Jefferson City

Duration of meetings: 4 hours

Preparation time for meetings: 3 hours

Total time commitment: 7-8 hours per meeting including preparation time and meeting time.

Details on Members

Total members: 11

Appointed members: 5

Term length: Governor's pleasure

Compensation: Members appointed by the governor are to be reimbursed for actual and necessary expenses.

Member Requirements: Governor appoints high school teachers and college professors with science emphasis.

Political Requirements: no

Geographic Requirements: The five at-large members shall be selected to represent various regions of the state.

Senate Consent Required: Yes


Ms. Anne Ross
At-Large Member 1
Jefferson City
Term begins: Sep 17, 2003

Ms. Juanita Chambers
At-Large Member 2
St. Louis
Term begins: Aug 17, 1998

Ms. Sylvia Shead
At-Large Member 3
St. Louis
Term begins: Jun 4, 1998

Vacant Slot
At-Large Member 4

Vacant Slot
At-Large Member 5

Ms. Kellie Reed
Commissioner of Higher Education or Designee

Director Carol S. Comer
Department of Natural Resources

Dr. Michael Middleton
Representative of University 1

Dr. Reaner Shannon
Representative of University 2
Kansas City
Term begins: Jun 4, 1998

Ms. Yvonne Matthews
Representative of University 3
Cape Giradeau

Representative Alan Green
State Affirmative Action Officer