Midwestern Higher Education Commission

105 Fifth Avenue South
Suite 450
Minneapolis, MN 55401

Phone: (612)-677-2777
Fax: (612)-767-3353

Email: mhec@mhec.org
Website: http://www.mhec.org/

Director: Susan G. Heegaard - President

Details on Board or Commission

Authority: RSMo 173.705

Department: Midwestern Higher Education Commission Compacts Governing Commission


Function: The Midwestern Higher Education Commission advances higher education through interstate cooperation and resource-sharing.

SubCommittees: none

Details on Meetings

Number of meetings: 1 full commission meeting (and 2 Executive Committee meetings per year)

Location of meetings: varying locations

Duration of meetings: 2 days

Preparation time for meetings: varying

Total time commitment: less than 2 hours

Details on Members

Total members: 5

Appointed members: 3

Term length: 4 years/2 years for Senate and House

Compensation: Members receive reimbursement for realized and necessary expenses.

Member Requirements: 3 members are appointed by the Governor (2 require advice and consent and one is the Governor or his designee); 1 member represents the Senate; and 1 member represents the House of Representatives

Political Requirements: no

Geographic Requirements: no

Senate Consent Required: Yes


Dr. Kayla Hahn
Governor or Designee
Term begins: Feb 6, 2019

Dr. Susan L. Thomas
Member 1
Term begins: Jun 3, 2019
Term expires: Jan 1, 2021

Dr. Margaret (Margie) Mary Vandeven
Member 2
Term begins: Jun 3, 2019
Term expires: Jan 1, 2022

Representative Allen Andrews
Member of the Missouri House of Representatives

Senator Gary Romine
Member of the Missouri Senate
Term begins: Jan 15, 2019