Jackson County Board of Election Commissioners

PO Box 296
Independence, MO 64051

Phone: (816)-325-4600
Fax: (816)-325-4609

Email: tbrown@jcebmo.org
Website: http://www.jcebmo.org/

Director: Tammy Brown - Director

Details on Board or Commission

Authority: RSMo 115.027

Mission: The Jackson County Board of Election Commissioners works to provide a secure and confidential right to the public to exercise the right of suffrage and maintain accurate and current registration data, all in accordance with statutory authority, and to carry out its mission with the highest degree of courtesy and professionalism to members of the general public and all who contact its office.

Function: The Jackson County Board of Election Commissioners may make all rules and regulations, not inconsistent with statutory provisions, necessary for the registration of voters and the conduct of elections. The board is also responsible for the employment of attorneys and other staff necessary to perform the duties of the board.

SubCommittees: none

Details on Meetings

Number of meetings: 12 meetings; special meetings as needed

Location of meetings: Independence

Duration of meetings: 2 to 3 hours

Preparation time for meetings: 1 to 6 hours

Total time commitment: 20 to 40 hours

Details on Members

Total members: 4

Appointed members: 4

Term length: 4 years

Compensation: Members receive a salary not to exceed $5,200 and reimbursement for realized and necessary expenses.

Member Requirements: all members must be registered voters and residents of the county; no member may hold any statutory position within a political party or on a political committee, be a candidate for political office or hold any other public office

Political Requirements: yes, not more than 2 members may be from the same political party

Geographic Requirements: yes, members must reside in the county for 1 year preceding appointment

Senate Consent Required: Yes


Mr. Michael Kenneth Whitehead(R) Chair
Member 1
Lee's Summit
Term begins: May 10, 2018
Term expires: Apr 2, 2022

Mrs. Colleen M. Scott(R)
Member 2
Lee’s summit
Term begins: Jun 29, 2018
Term expires: Apr 4, 2022

Mr. Henry R. Carner(D)
Member 3
Term begins: Jul 8, 2019
Term expires: Apr 2, 2022

Mr. Vernon E Scoville(D) Secretary
Member 4
Blue Springs
Term begins: Jun 29, 2018
Term expires: Apr 4, 2022