Kansas City Board of Election Commissioners

30 W. Pershing Rd
Suite 2800, Level B
Kansas City, MO 64108

Phone: (816)-842-4820
Fax: (816)-472-4960

Email: shawn@kceb.org
Website: http://www.kceb.org

Details on Board or Commission

Authority: RSMo 115.027


Function: The Kansas City Board of Election Commissioners is responsible for conducting elections for all governmental entities lying wholly or in part within the boundaries of Kansas City within Jackson County

SubCommittees: none

Details on Meetings

Number of meetings: 12 meetings; special meetings as needed

Location of meetings: Kansas City

Duration of meetings: 2 to 3 hours

Preparation time for meetings: 1 hour

Total time commitment: 3 hours; more during elections

Details on Members

Total members: 4

Appointed members: 4

Term length: 4 years

Compensation: Members receive a salary not to exceed $5,200 and reimbursement for realized and necessary expenses

Member Requirements: all members must be registered voters and residents of Kansas City, Jackson County; no member may hold any statutory position within a political party or on a political committee, be a candidate for political office or hold any other public office; 1 member is designated chair by the Governor; 1 member of a different political party is designated secretary by the Governor

Political Requirements: yes, not more than 2 members may be members of the same political party

Geographic Requirements: yes, members must reside in Kansas City, Jackson County for 1 year preceding appointment, Section 115.031 RSMo

Senate Consent Required: Yes


Vacant Slot
Member 1

Mrs. Sharon V. Turner (Buie)(D) Secretary
Member 2
Kansas City
Term begins: Sep 20, 2018
Term expires: Jan 10, 2021

Mr. M. Blake Heath(R) Chair
Member 3
Kansas City
Term begins: May 5, 2016
Term expires: Jan 10, 2017

Ms. Alyssa Michele Mayer(R)
Member 4
Kansas City
Term begins: Aug 14, 2018
Term expires: Jan 10, 2021