Holocaust Education and Awareness Commission

Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
PO Box 480
Jefferson City, MO 65102

Phone: (573)-751-0398
Fax: (573)-526-0812

Email: pubinfo@dese.mo.gov

Details on Board or Commission

Authority: RSMo 161.700

Department: Elementary and Secondary Education

Mission: Promote implementation of holocaust education and awareness programs in Missouri in order to encourage understanding of the holocaust and discourage bigotry.



Details on Meetings

Number of meetings: Not specified by Statute

Location of meetings: Jefferson City

Duration of meetings: approx. 3 hours

Preparation time for meetings:

Total time commitment: 3 hours, plus travel time

Details on Members

Total members: 12

Appointed members: 9

Term length: Serve at the pleasure of the Governor

Compensation: none

Member Requirements: Represent the diverse religious and ethnic heritage of Missouri

Political Requirements: none

Geographic Requirements: none

Senate Consent Required: Yes


Dixie Grupe
Commissioner of Elementary and Secondary Education Designee

Commissioner Zora Mulligan
Commissioner of Higher Education

Ms. Lolle Boettcher
Member 1
Term begins: Nov 28, 2006

Ms. Jean Cavender
Member 2
St. Louis
Term begins: Nov 28, 2006

Vacant Slot
Member 3

Mrs. Dana Humphrey
Member 4
Term begins: Nov 28, 2006

Vacant Slot
Member 5

Dr. Daniel R. Mandell
Member 6
Term begins: Apr 23, 2007

Mr. Sam Devinki
Member 7
Kansas City
Term begins: Jan 2, 2018

Ms. Devorah Goldenberg
Member 8
Term begins: Feb 25, 2010

Vacant Slot
Member 9

Dr. Brad Prager
President of the University of Missouri System Designee