Hazardous Waste Management Commission

Missouri Department of Natural Resources
1730 East Elm Street
Jefferson City, MO 65102

Phone: (573)-751-3176
Fax: (573)-751-7869

Email: hazwaste@dnr.mo.gov
Website: http://www.dnr.missouri.gov/env/hwp/commission/commis.htm

Director: David Lamb

Details on Board or Commission

Authority: RSMo 260.365

Department: Natural Resources

Mission: The Missouri Hazardous Waste Management Commission works to ensure proper management of hazardous wastes so that public health and the environment are protected, to act as an administrative board for appeals of department decisions, to serve as the official rulemaking authority for the generation, transportation, treatment, storage, and disposal of hazardous waste, and to aid in the promotion of hazardous waste recycling, reuse, or reduction.

Function: The Missouri Hazardous Waste Management Commission establishes regulations for the generation, transportation, treatment, storage, and disposal of hazardous waste. The commission is designed to hear appeals of decisions made by the Department of Natural Resources and to rule on requests for variances from hazardous waste management regulations.

SubCommittees: none

Details on Meetings

Number of meetings: 4 to 6 meetings

Location of meetings: varying locations

Duration of meetings: 2 to 4 hours; occasional tours of hazardous waste sites, 2 to 3 days

Preparation time for meetings: 3 to 4 hours

Total time commitment: 10 to 15 hours per quarter

Details on Members

Total members: 7

Appointed members: 7

Term length: 4 years

Compensation: Members receive a per diem not to exceed $50 for each day devoted to the affairs of the board and reimbursement for realized and necessary expenses.

Member Requirements: all members must be representative of the general interest of the public and shall have interest and knowledge of waste management and the effects of improper waste management on health and the environment; no more than four, one for each interest, shall be knowledgeable of and may be employed in agriculture, the retail petroleum industry, the waste generating industry and the waste management industry.; except for industry members, no member may receive, or have received during the previous two years, a significant portion of income directly or indirectly from any license or permit holder or applicant for license or permit under any waste management act.

Political Requirements: Yes, not more than four members may be members of the same political party.

Geographic Requirements: No

Senate Consent Required: Yes


Mr. Kevin T. Kamp(I)
Member 1
St. Charles
Term begins: Jul 18, 2019
Term expires: Apr 3, 2023

Mr. Jamie Frakes(R)
Member 2
Term begins: Apr 15, 2008
Term expires: Apr 3, 2012

Vacant Slot
Member 3

Vacant Slot
Member 4

Vacant Slot
Member 5

Mr. Mark E Jordan(R)
Member 6
Term begins: Jun 19, 2014
Term expires: Apr 3, 2015

Ms. Elizabeth B. Aull(R)
Member 7
Term begins: Apr 23, 2008
Term expires: Apr 3, 2012