Educational Commission of the States

700 Broadway
Suite 810
Denver, CO 80203

Phone: (303)-299-3690
Fax: (303)-296-8332


Director: Lisa Guilfoile

Details on Board or Commission

Authority: RSMo 173.300

Mission: The Educational Commission of the States is a nonprofit, nationwide interstate compact formed in 1965. Its primary purpose is to help governors, state legislators, state education officials and others develop policies to improve the quality of education at all levels.

Function: The Educational Commission of the States collects and analyzes data concerning educational needs and resources; coordinates research and develops proposals for adequate financing of education; formulates policies and plans for improvement of public education; reports to the legislature and the governor annually.

SubCommittees: Steering Committee

Details on Meetings

Number of meetings: 3 - one National Forum on Education Policy held in the summer and two steering committee meetings held in the spring and fall.

Location of meetings: varying locations

Duration of meetings: 4 days

Preparation time for meetings:

Total time commitment:

Details on Members

Total members: 7

Appointed members: 4

Term length: Members serve at the pleasure of the Governor.

Compensation: Members receive reimbursement for realized and necessary expenses.

Member Requirements: 1 member must be the Governor; 2 shall be members of the state legislature selected by its respective houses and serving in such manner as the legislature may determine; 1 member must be the head of a state agency or institution responsible for one or more programs of public education; 3 additional members shall be appointed by and serve at the pleasure of the governor. Members representing the state shall, by virtue of their training, experience, knowledge or affiliations be in a position collectively to reflect broadly the interests of the state government, higher education, the state education system, local education, lay and professional, public and non-public educational leadership.

Political Requirements: No

Geographic Requirements: No

Senate Consent Required: No


Governor Michael L. Parson
Governor of Missouri
Term begins: Jun 1, 2018

Dr. Margaret (Margie) Mary Vandeven
Head of a State Agency or Institution
Term begins: Feb 8, 2019

Dr. John E. Jungmann
Governor's Appointee 1
Term begins: Mar 27, 2019

Dr. Michael Todd Nietzel
Governor's Appointee 2
Jefferson City
Term begins: Nov 14, 2016

Mr. Frank Killian
Governor's Appointee 3
Term begins: Mar 27, 2019

Vacant Slot
Member of the House of Representatives

Senator Cindy O'Laughlin
Member of the Senate
Term begins: Jan 15, 2019