Coordinating Board for Higher Education

205 Jefferson Street
PO Box 1469
Jefferson City, MO 65102-1469

Phone: (573)-751-1876
Fax: (573)-526-0984


Director: Zora Mulligan - Commissioner

Details on Board or Commission

Authority: RSMo 173.005

Department: Higher Education and Workforce Development

Mission: The Missouri Coordinating Board for Higher Educations mission is to foster a thriving system of quality higher education. At the direction of the Coordinating Board of Higher Education, the role of the Department of Higher Education is to formulate, implement, evaluate, and effectively coordinate the boards policies, priorities and initiatives through innovative planning, integrative administration, and funding for results, in consultation with the leadership and representatives of the state system of higher education.

Function: The Coordinating Board for Higher Education employs a commissioner to serve as its chief executive officer and carry out its goals and administrative responsibilities for coordinating the state system of higher education which includes 13 public four-year colleges and universities, 17 public two-year community colleges, 1 public two-year technical college, 25 independent colleges and universities, 120 proprietary schools and 39 specialized independent schools and colleges and theological institutions.

SubCommittees: CBHE Presidential Advisory Committee CBHE Committee on Transfer and Articulation (COTA) CBHE Proprietary School Advisory Committee

Details on Meetings

Number of meetings: 5 meetings; Presidential Advisory Committee, 4 to 5 meetings

Location of meetings: Jefferson City; St. Louis, Kansas City; college campuses

Duration of meetings: 2 hours or more; Presidential Advisory Committee, 1 to 2 hours

Preparation time for meetings: 4 hours or more

Total time commitment: up to 24 hours

Details on Members

Total members: 9

Appointed members: 9

Term length: 6 years

Compensation: Members receive reimbursement for realized and necessary expenses.

Member Requirements:

Political Requirements: Yes, not more than 5 members may be members of the same political party.

Geographic Requirements: Yes, members must represent each congressional district.

Senate Consent Required: Yes


Vacant Slot
1st Congressional District

Mr. W. Dudley McCarter(I)
2nd Congressional District
st. Louis
Term begins: Sep 18, 2019
Term expires: Jun 27, 2022

Mr. Shawn Saale(R)
3rd Congressional District
Term begins: Aug 22, 2017
Term expires: Jun 27, 2021

Vacant Slot
4th Congressional District

Ms. Gwendolyn Grant(D)
5th Congressional District
Kansas City
Term begins: Aug 30, 2018
Term expires: Jun 27, 2022

Vacant Slot
6th Congressional District

Mr. Gary Nodler(R)
7th Congressional District
Term begins: Aug 30, 2018
Term expires: Jun 27, 2024

Mr. Douglas Ray Kennedy(D)
8th Congressional District
Poplar Bluff
Term begins: Nov 5, 2015
Term expires: Jun 27, 2020

Colonel Joseph West Cornelison(R)
Congressional District
Term begins: Dec 12, 2017
Term expires: Jun 27, 2020