Commission on Retirement, Removal, and Discipline of Judges

2190 South Mason Road
Suite 201
St. Louis, MO 63131

Phone: (314)-966-1007
Fax: (314)-966-0076


Details on Board or Commission

Authority: Article 5, Section 24

Mission: The Commission shall uphold judicial independence and integrity and will work to insure the high standards of conduct which are expected of the Missouri Judiciary.

Function: The Commission on Retirement, Removal, and Discipline of Judges is to make recommendations to the Supreme Court for the retirement of any state or municipal judge who is found to be physically or mentally disabled and for the removal or discipline of a judge for misconduct.

SubCommittees: none

Details on Meetings

Number of meetings: 4 to 12 meetings

Location of meetings: St. Louis, Kansas City, Lake of the Ozarks; varying locations depending on case site

Duration of meetings: 1 to 2 days

Preparation time for meetings: 10 to 20 hours to prepare for meeting and hearings

Total time commitment: 10 to 30 hours

Details on Members

Total members: 6

Appointed members: 2

Term length: 6 years

Compensation: Members receive reimbursement for actual and necessary expenses.

Member Requirements: 2 members must be lawyers appointed by the Board of Governors of the Missouri Bar; 2 must be non-members of the Bar appointed by the Governor; 1 must be a judge of the Court of Appeals selected by a majority of the Judges of the Court of Appeals; and 1 must be a judge of the Circuit Courts selected by a majority of the Circuit Judges of the state

Political Requirements: no

Geographic Requirements: no

Senate Consent Required: No


Honorable David Dowd
Judge 1

Honorable Joseph Ellis
Judge 2

Arthur S Margulis
Lawyer 1

Skip Walther
Lawyer 2

Reverend Dr. Carlton Caldwell
Member appointed by Governor 1
Term begins: Mar 21, 2012
Term expires: Dec 31, 2015

Mrs. Michelle Aycock
Member appointed by Governor 2
Term begins: Mar 14, 2016
Term expires: Dec 31, 2021