Bi-State Development Agency of the Missouri-Illinois Metropolitan District

707 N. First Street
St. Louis, MO 63102

Phone: (314)-982-1400
Fax: (314)-923-3034


Details on Board or Commission

Authority: RSMo 70.370

Department: Public Safety

Mission: Regional economic development through excellence in transportation

Function: The Bi-State Development Agency Board of Commissioners provides policy direction for Bi-State Development Agency and hires, evaluates, and terminates the Bi-State chief executive officer.

SubCommittees: Executive Committee Pension, Finance and Audit Committee Operations Committee and Strategic Planning Committee Nominating Committee

Details on Meetings

Number of meetings: 11 Commissioner Board meetings, 11 Committee meetings

Location of meetings: St. Louis; varying locations

Duration of meetings: 4 hours

Preparation time for meetings: 30 minutes

Total time commitment: 10 hours

Details on Members

Total members: 10

Appointed members: 5

Term length: 5 years

Compensation: Members receive reinbursement for realized and necessary expenses.

Member Requirements: 5 members appointed by Missouri Governor: Two of the five shall be selected from a panel of three nominees submitted by the mayor of St. Louis City. Two of the five shall be selected from a panel of three nominees submitted by the county executive of St. Louis County. The fifth shall be selected from a panel of three submitted alternately by the mayor of St. Louis City and the county executive of St. Louis County.

Political Requirements: No

Geographic Requirements: yes, member must be a resident voter living within the Missouri/Illinois portion of the Bi-State metropolitan district

Senate Consent Required: Yes


Mr. Jeffrey Watson
Illinois Appointee 1

Justin Zimmerman
Illinois Appointee 2

Michael Buehlhorn
Illinois Appointee 3

Derrick Cox
Illinois Appointee 4

Irma Golliday
Illinois Appointee 5

Ms. Vernal Brown
Missouri Appointee 1
Term begins: Jan 6, 2015
Term expires: Nov 11, 2015

Dr. Fred Pestello
Missouri Appointee 2
St. Louis
Term begins: Oct 18, 2018
Term expires: Nov 10, 2021

Ms. Rose Windmiller
Missouri Appointee 3
Webster Groves
Term begins: Jun 29, 2018
Term expires: Nov 11, 2018

Ms. Constance G. Gully
Missouri Appointee 4
Term begins: Oct 26, 2011
Term expires: Nov 11, 2013

Ms. Aliah B Holman
Missouri Appointee 5
St. Louis
Term begins: Feb 22, 2012
Term expires: Nov 11, 2014