Amber Alert System Oversight Committee

1510 East Elm Street
Jefferson City, MO 65102

Phone: (573)-751-1000
Fax: (573)-751-6814


Details on Board or Commission

Authority: RSMo 210.1014

Department: Public Safety

Mission: To allow local law enforcement to issue statewide alerts in certain types of abduction cases and enhance local plans by providing additional methods of notification and statewide coverage.

Function: The Amber alert system oversight committee shall promulgate rules for the implementation of the Amber Alert system.

SubCommittees: N/A

Details on Meetings

Number of meetings: N/A

Location of meetings: Jefferson City/Various

Duration of meetings: N/A

Preparation time for meetings: N/A

Total time commitment: N/A

Details on Members

Total members: 10

Appointed members: 7

Term length: Four years

Compensation: Members shall be reimbursed for their actual and necessary expenses.

Member Requirements: Members shall represent the following entities: two representatives of the Missouri Sheriffs' Association; two representatives of the Missouri Police Chiefs Association; one representative of small market radio broadcasters; one representative of large market radio broadcasters; one representative of television broadcasters. The Director of the Department of Public Safety shall also be a member of the committee and shall serve as chair of the committee. Additional members shall include one representative of the highway patrol and one representative of the department of health and senior services.

Political Requirements: No

Geographic Requirements: Missouri residents

Senate Consent Required: Yes


Director Sandra K. Karsten Chair
Department of Public Safety Director
Term begins: Sep 1, 2018

Captain John Hotz
Highway Patrol Representative
Term begins: Nov 18, 2019

Ms. Sammi Jo Freeman
Department of Health and Senior Services
Term begins: Jun 24, 2021

Sheriff Stephen Korte
Sheriffs' Association 1
Bowling Green
Term begins: Feb 27, 2020
Term expires: Oct 20, 2023

Vacant Slot
Sheriffs' Association 2

Mr. Sheldon Lineback
Police Chiefs Association 1
Jefferson City
Term begins: Jun 7, 2007
Term expires: Oct 20, 2010

Chief Terry Milam
Police Chiefs Association 2
St. John
Term begins: Oct 9, 2007
Term expires: Oct 20, 2010

Mrs. Chasity L. Anderson
small market radio broadcasters
Term begins: Apr 18, 2007
Term expires: Apr 17, 2009

Mr. Christopher S. Stigall
large market radio broadcasters
Kansas City
Term begins: Sep 7, 2007
Term expires: Oct 20, 2009

Ms. Bridget Lovelle
television broadcasters
Term begins: Dec 13, 2019
Term expires: Oct 20, 2023