University of Central Missouri Board of Governors

Administration Building 202
Warrensburg, MO 64093

Phone: (660)-543-4106
Fax: (660)-543-8020


Details on Board or Commission

Authority: RSMo 174.060

Department: Higher Education

Mission: The University of Central Missouri's statewide mission is to acquire, disseminate and utilize technology to enhance the university's comprehensive educational mission and to enrich the lives of all Missourians.

Function: The University of Central Missouri's Board of Governors has the power to sue and be sued; complain and defend in all courts; buy and sell real estate; appoint and dismiss officers and teachers; regulate admission of students; regulate terms, compensation, retirement, and workers' compensation of employees; determine causes for removal of the president or a teacher; and confer degrees.

SubCommittees: Board Committee on Academic Affairs; Board Committee on Student and Alumni Affairs; Board Committee on Administration and Finance

Details on Meetings

Number of meetings: 8 to 10 board meetings; 8 committee meetings

Location of meetings: Warrensburg

Duration of meetings: 1 to 2 days; committee meetings, 2 hours

Preparation time for meetings: 3 to 5 hours

Total time commitment: 10 to 15 hours per month

Details on Members

Total members: 8

Appointed members: 8

Term length: voting members, 6 years; student representative, 2 years

Compensation: Members receive reimbursement for realized and necessary expenses.

Member Requirements: Five voting members shall be selected from the counties comprising of the institution's historic statutory service region, except that no more than two members shall be appointed from any one county with a population of less than 200,000 inhabitants. Two voting members shall be selected from any of the counties in the state which are outside of the institution's historic service region. One non-voting member shall be a student.

Political Requirements: yes, not more than 4 voting members may be members of the same political party

Geographic Requirements: yes, 5 voting members must be selected from UCM's district, including Bates, Benton, Camden, Cass, Cole, Cooper, Henry, Hickory, Jackson, Johnson, Lafayette, Maries, Miller, Moniteau, Morgan, Osage, Pettis, Phelps, Pulaski, St. Clair, and Saline Counties

Senate Consent Required: Yes


Mr. Marvin Wright(D)
Governor 1
Term begins: May 5, 2016
Term expires: Dec 31, 2021

Ms. Mary Dandurand(D)
Governor 2
Term begins: May 5, 2016
Term expires: Dec 31, 2021

Dr. Mary A. Long(D)
Governor 3
Kansas City
Term begins: Jul 23, 2018
Term expires: Jan 1, 2023

Mr. John Allen Collier(R)
Governor 4
Term begins: Feb 12, 2013
Term expires: Jan 1, 2019

Mr. Walter Hicklin(D)
Governor 5
Gravois Mills
Term begins: Jun 13, 2007
Term expires: Jan 1, 2013

Dr. Gus S Wetzel(R)
Governor 6
Term begins: Jul 23, 2018
Term expires: Jan 1, 2023

Mr. Stephen Lloyd Abney(R)
Governor 7
Term begins: Jul 23, 2018
Term expires: Jan 1, 2024

Ms. Casey J. Short
Student Representative
Term begins: Jul 23, 2018
Term expires: Dec 31, 2019