Tourism Commission

Missouri Division of Tourism
PO Box 1055
Jefferson City, MO 65102

Phone: (573)-751-3051
Fax: (573)-751-5160


Details on Board or Commission

Authority: RSMo 620.455

Department: Economic Development

Mission: To lead Missouri in becoming one of Americas most memorable tourist destinations.

Function: The Missouri Tourism Commission elects a chair and meets at least four times in a calendar year at the call of the chair to determine all matters relating to policy and administration of tourism promotion, thus creating jobs, additional payroll, tax revenue, and economic development for the State of Missouri.

SubCommittees: none

Details on Meetings

Number of meetings: 4 meetings

Location of meetings: Jefferson City

Duration of meetings: 1-2 hours

Preparation time for meetings: 2-3 hours

Total time commitment: 3 to 5 hours

Details on Members

Total members: 10

Appointed members: 5

Term length: 4 years

Compensation: Members receive reimbursement for realized and necessary expenses.

Member Requirements: members may include but are not limited to persons engaged in the tourism industry; 1 member must be the Lieutenant Governor; 2 must be members of the Senate; 2 must be members of the House

Political Requirements: yes, not more than 3 members appointed by the Governor may be members of the same political party; members of the Senate may not be members of the same party and members of the House may not members of the same party

Geographic Requirements: no

Senate Consent Required: Yes


Lt. Governor Michael Kehoe
Lt. Governor

Vacant Slot
House of Representatives 1

Representative Pat Conway
House of Representatives 2

Senator Gina Walsh
Member of the Senate 1

Senator David Sater
Member of the Senate 2

Mr. Kurt Donald Witzel(R)
Member 1
Saint Louis
Term begins: Nov 2, 2018
Term expires: Jan 15, 2019

Mr. David Matthew Corley(I)
Member 2
Term begins: Aug 22, 2017
Term expires: Jan 15, 2019

Mr. Jay Wasson(R)
Member 3
Term begins: Nov 2, 2018
Term expires: Jan 15, 2022

Mr. Scott Hovis(D) Chair
Member 4
Jefferson City
Term begins: Apr 2, 2009
Term expires: Jan 15, 2013

Mr. Eric Rhone(D)
Member 5
Term begins: Apr 14, 2009
Term expires: Jan 15, 2012