State Tax Commission

PO Box 146
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0146

Phone: (573)-751-2414
Fax: (573)-751-1341


Details on Board or Commission

Authority: RSMo 138.190

Department: Revenue

Mission: The State Tax Commission of Missouri upholds the constitution and statutes of the State of Missouri; faithfully and impartially executes an assessment program; promptly and efficiently responds to questions, complaints, and needs of taxpayers and assessing officers; and eradicates the injustices and inequities in assessments for property tax purposes.

Function: The State Tax Commission of Missouri supervises assessment and equalization practices, conducts hearings for individual cases from local Boards of Equalization, assesses railroad and utility distributable property, and determines the level and quality of assessments in 114 counties and the City of St. Louis

SubCommittees: none

Details on Meetings

Number of meetings: Members serve in full time positions. Business is not conducted by meeting.

Location of meetings: The Commission's office is located in Jefferson City.

Duration of meetings: not applicable

Preparation time for meetings: not applicable

Total time commitment: full-time

Details on Members

Total members: 3

Appointed members: 3

Term length: 6 years

Compensation: Members receive salary and reimbursement for realized and necessary expenses.

Member Requirements: none

Political Requirements: yes, not more than 2 members may be members of the same political party

Geographic Requirements: no

Senate Consent Required: Yes


Mr. Will Kraus(R)
Member 1
Lees Summit
Term begins: Jul 31, 2017
Term expires: Jan 23, 2020

Mr. Bruce Davis(R)
Member 2
Term begins: Feb 5, 2004
Term expires: Jan 23, 2010

Mr. Victor E. Callahan(D)
Member 3
Term begins: May 10, 2018
Term expires: Jan 23, 2024