Missouri Early Childhood State Advisory Council (State Interagency Coordinating Council)

205 Jefferson Street
P. O. Box 480
Jefferson City, MO 65102

Phone: (573)-522-8762
Fax: (573)-526-4404

Email: judy.goans@dese.mo.gov
Website: https://dese.mo.gov/childhood/early-intervention/first-steps/state-interagency-coordinating-council

Details on Board or Commission

Authority: RSMo 160-905

Authority 2: Executive Order 22-01

Department: Elementary and Secondary Education

Mission: The mission of the Missouri State Interagency Coordinating Council (SICC) for First Steps Early Intervention program is to advise and assist the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) in serving infants and toddlers birth to age three, who have developmental delays and disabilities, in providing an appropriate family-centered, comprehensive service delivery system which promotes optimal child development and family functioning.

Function: Advise and assist the lead agency in performance of the responsibilities set forth in Section 635(a)(10) of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, particularly the identification of the sources of fiscal and other support for services for early intervention programs, assignment of financial responsibility to the appropriate agency, and the promotion of the interagency agreements; Advise and assist the lead agency in the preparation of applications and amendments thereto; Advise and assist the State lead agency regarding the transition of toddlers with disabilities to preschool and other appropriate services; and, Prepare and submit an annual report to the Governor and to the Secretary of Education on the status of early intervention programs for infants and toddlers with disabilities and their families operated within the State. The council may advise and assist the lead agency regarding the provision of appropriate services for children from birth to age three. The council may advise appropriate agencies in the State with respect to the integration of services for toddlers and their families, regardless of whether at-risk infants and toddlers are eligible for early intervention services in the State.

SubCommittees: Executive Committee; appointed subcommittees or task forces to assist in the development and implementation of early intervention services or to carry out the work of the Council

Details on Meetings

Number of meetings: 4 (quarterly)

Location of meetings: Jefferson City

Duration of meetings: 6 hours

Preparation time for meetings: 2 hours

Total time commitment: 1 to 3 hours

Details on Members

Total members: 19

Appointed members: 19

Term length: None stated in Statute. Council Bylaws state: State agency representatives shall serve at the pleasure of their appointment authority. All other membership terms shall be four (4) years.

Compensation: Members receive reimbursement for realized and necessary expenses.

Member Requirements: Members of the Advisory Council shall serve voluntarily. Members of the Advisory Council shall not receive compensation for performance of their duties, but may be reimbursed for necessary expenses associated with performance of their duties, subject to the availability of funds. Officers or employees of state agencies who are appointed to the Advisory Council as part of their duties shall be authorized to participate on the Advisory Council and may claim subsistence, allowance, mileage, or associated expenses from their respective agency budgets as permitted by law.

Political Requirements: no

Geographic Requirements: no

Senate Consent Required: No


Ms. Pam Thomas
representative from the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Ms. Teri L. Armistead
representative from the Missouri Department of Social Services

Ms. Melody A. Boling
representative from the Missouri Department of Mental Health
Jefferson City

Ms. Amy Liston
representative from the Missouri Department of Commerce and Insurance

Vacant Slot
member from the Missouri General Assembly

Ms. Kathy Fuger
individual involved in personnel preparation
Term begins: Jul 31, 2002

Vacant Slot
representative of a local educational agency in Missouri

Vacant Slot
representative of an institution of higher education in Missouri

Mrs. Stacey Owsley Wright
State Director of Missouri Head Start

Ms. Pamela M. Clark
early care and education provider
Term begins: Feb 15, 2022

Ms. Cheryl Kosmatka
representative designated by Office of the Coordination of Education of Homeless Children and Youth
Term begins: Apr 4, 2022

Ms. Clara Wilson
First Steps providers 1
Term begins: Mar 22, 2022

Ms. Sara Walraven
First Steps providers 2
Term begins: Mar 22, 2022

Dr. Tracy Stroud
First Steps providers 3
Term begins: Nov 19, 2013

Dr. Carlotta Kimble
First Steps providers 4
Term begins: Dec 20, 2013

Mrs. Lesley Ann Bickel
Parent Member 1
Jefferson City
Term begins: Dec 20, 2013

Ms. Sherri Bramhall
Parent Member 2
Term begins: Jan 29, 2014

Vacant Slot
Parent Member 3

Vacant Slot
Parent Member 4