Committee for Professional Counselors

3605 Missouri Boulevard
PO Box 1335
Jefferson City, MO 65102

Phone: (573)-751-0018
Fax: (573)-751-0735


Director: Gloria Lindsey

Details on Board or Commission

Authority: RSMo 337.535

Department: Insurance, Financial Institutions and Professional Registration

Mission: The Committee for Professional Counselors protects the public from unlicensed, negligent, incompetent, and dishonest mental health services provided by licensees and individuals under supervision for licensure. The committee enforces licensure standards through the implementation of legislative and administrative regulations and provides guidance to supervisor and applicants for licensure to insure compliance with Missouri law and regulations.

Function: Applications are reviewed by the committee to insure a licensee or individual under supervision for licensure is qualified, through education, supervised experience, and examination, to provide mental health services to Missouri consumers. Complaints and corresponding investigations are reviewed by the committee to insure licensees and individuals under supervision for licensure practice, legally, ethically, and competently.

SubCommittees: Credentials Committee

Details on Meetings

Number of meetings: 4 face to face meetings; conference calls every 4-6 weeks

Location of meetings: Jefferson City

Duration of meetings: Face to face meeting 1 and 1/2 days; conference calls, 2 hours

Preparation time for meetings: Face to face 16 hours, conference call 6 hours

Total time commitment: 28 hours face to face; 10 hours conference call

Details on Members

Total members: 6

Appointed members: 6

Term length: 4 years, 1 reappointment allowed

Compensation: Members receive a per diem not to exceed $50 for each day devoted to the affairs of the board and reimbursement for realized and necessary expenses.

Member Requirements: 5 members must be licensed professional counselors; 1 must be a public member

Political Requirements: no

Geographic Requirements: no

Senate Consent Required: Yes


Linda Sue Hermann Wimpfheimer
Professional Counselor Member 1
Webster Groves
Term begins: Dec 14, 2018
Term expires: Aug 28, 2019

Dr. Mark Comensky
Professional Counselor Member 2
Term begins: Apr 28, 2000
Term expires: Aug 28, 2001

Dr. Cynthia Herrmann Baker
Professional Counselor Member 3
Term begins: Dec 14, 2018
Term expires: Aug 28, 2019

Ms. Rhonda J Wood
Professional Counselor or Educator 1
Term begins: Oct 2, 2012
Term expires: Aug 28, 2013

Dr. Regina Staves
Professional Counselor or Educator 2
Kansas City
Term begins: Aug 10, 2015
Term expires: Aug 28, 2016

Vacant Slot
Public Member