St. Charles County Convention & Sports Facilities Authority

PO Box 858
St. Charles, MO 63302

Phone: (636)-896-1830
Fax: (636)-896-1831


Director: Diane Tocco

Details on Board or Commission

Authority: RSMo 67.1153

Mission: To operate and maintain the St. Charles Convention Center and to promote convention, visitor and sports facilities and activities in St. Charles County.

Function: The St. Charles County Convention and Sports Facilities Authority administers a tax on sleeping rooms within the county and uses the collected funds to further the Authority’s mission.

SubCommittees: none

Details on Meetings

Number of meetings: 7-8 meetings per year

Location of meetings: St. Charles County

Duration of meetings: 1-2 hours

Preparation time for meetings:

Total time commitment:

Details on Members

Total members: 5

Appointed members: 5

Term length: 5 years

Compensation: Members receive reimbursement for realized and necessary expenses.

Member Requirements: no

Political Requirements: yes, no more than three of the commissioners appointed shall be of any one political party

Geographic Requirements: yes, members must reside in St. Charles County

Senate Consent Required: Yes


Mr. Paul Franklin Woody(D)
Member 1
Saint Charles
Term begins: Dec 21, 2015
Term expires: Apr 27, 2020

Mr. Thomas Wapelhorst(R)
Member 2
St. Charles
Term begins: Mar 9, 2009
Term expires: Apr 27, 2013

Joseph M. Smith(R)
Member 3
Saint Charles
Term begins: Sep 28, 2018
Term expires: Apr 27, 2021

Mr. Frederick T. Dyer(R)
Member 4
St. Charles
Term begins: Dec 21, 2015
Term expires: Apr 27, 2019

Mr. John A. Scherr(D)
Member 5
Lake St Louis
Term begins: Dec 21, 2015
Term expires: Apr 27, 2017