Sentencing Advisory Commission

PO Box 104480
Jefferson City, MO 65110

Phone: (573)-522-6775
Fax: (573)-522-6086


Details on Board or Commission

Authority: RSMo 558.019

Department: Office of State Courts Administrator

Mission: The Missouri Sentencing Advisory Commission, in carrying out its statutory duties under section 558.019.6 (2) (4), works to recommend sentencing that will provide protection for society; promote certainty, consistency, and proportionality of punishment; recognize the impact of crime on victims, and encourage rational use of correctional resources consistent with public safety.

Function: The Missouri Sentencing Advisory Commission studies sentencing practices in the circuit courts throughout the state for the purpose of determining whether and to what extent disparities exist among the various circuits with respect to the length of sentences imposed and the use of probation for defendants convicted of the same or similar crimes and with similar criminal histories. The commission established a system of recommended sentences for each felony committed under the laws of the state.

SubCommittees: none

Details on Meetings

Number of meetings: quarterly (may vary according to needs)

Location of meetings: Office of State Courts Administrator, 3425 Constitution Court, Jefferson City, MO

Duration of meetings: 1 day

Preparation time for meetings: 2 to 3 hours

Total time commitment: varies according to meetings and correspondence

Details on Members

Total members: 11

Appointed members: 10

Term length: 4 years

Compensation: Members receive reimbursement for realized and necessary expenses.

Member Requirements: One member will be appointed by the speaker of the house. One member will be appointed by the president pro tem of the senate. One member will be the director of the department of corrections. Six members appointed by the Governor must represent the Public Defender Commission, two private citizens, a private member of the Missouri Bar, the Board of Probation and Parole, and a prosecutor. Two members will be appointed by the supreme court, one from a metropolitan area and one from a rural area.

Political Requirements: no

Geographic Requirements: none

Senate Consent Required: No


Director Anne Precythe
Director, Department of Corrections

Ms. Phyllis Becker
Member of Citizen's Organization 1
Kansas City
Term begins: Jul 6, 2009

Mr. Larry Joiner
Member of Citizen's Organization 2
Term begins: Jun 1, 2006

Mr. Ellis McSwain
Member of Probation and Parole
Jefferson City
Term begins: May 10, 2010

Vacant Slot
Member of Public Defender Commission

Mr. Dane C. Miller
Private member of the Missouri Bar
Term begins: Aug 25, 2009

Mr. Dwight Keith Jr. Scroggins
Prosecutor Member 1
St. Joseph
Term begins: Apr 12, 2012

Representative Galen Higdon
Member of the House of Representatives

Vacant Slot
Member of the Senate

Vacant Slot
Metropolitan Area

Judge Richard Callahan
Rural Area