Public Service Commission

PO Box 360
Jefferson City, MO 65102

Phone: (573)-751-3234
Fax: (573)-751-1847


Director: Loyd Wilson - Director of Administration

Details on Board or Commission

Authority: RSMo 386.050

Department: Economic Development

Mission: The Public Service Commission works to ensure for the citizens of the State of Missouri that regulated utility services are safe, of the highest quality, and delivered to the consumer in a timely manner at just and reasonable rates. These services are to be provided by utility companies that operate with efficiency, innovation and customer focus while providing the company an opportunity to earn a reasonable return on its investment. The Public Service Commission also regulates the mobile home, modular unit and recreational vehicle industries to ensure compliance with uniform manufacturer and dealer standards established for the protection of the consumer.

Function: The Public Service Commission is both quasi-judicial and quasi-legislative, and is responsible for deciding utility cases brought before it and for the promulgation and enforcement of administrative rules. Duties include conducting hearings in contested cases and rendering decisions in a timely manner to afford all parties procedural and substantive due process and to comply with statutory time limits.

SubCommittees: none

Details on Meetings

Number of meetings: Members serve in full-time positions. Business is not conducted by meeting.

Location of meetings: The Commission's Office is located in Jefferson City.

Duration of meetings: not applicable

Preparation time for meetings: not applicable

Total time commitment: full-time; members also must review case record information, additional 20 to 25 hours per week

Details on Members

Total members: 5

Appointed members: 5

Term length: 6 years

Compensation: Members receive a salary and reimbursement for realized and necessary expenses.

Member Requirements: 1 member is designated chair by the Governor

Political Requirements: no

Geographic Requirements: yes, members must reside in the state for at least 5 years preceding appointment and must be at least 25 years of age.

Senate Consent Required: Yes


Mr. Ryan Anthony Silvey Chair
Member 1
Kansas City
Term begins: Jan 2, 2018
Term expires: Jan 2, 2024

Mr. William P. Kenney
Member 2
Kansas City
Term begins: Jan 9, 2013
Term expires: Jan 9, 2019

Mr. Scott T Rupp
Member 3
Term begins: Mar 25, 2014
Term expires: Mar 25, 2020

Mr. Daniel Y. Hall
Member 4
Term begins: Dec 6, 2013
Term expires: Sep 27, 2019

Ms. Maida J. Coleman
Member 5
St. Louis
Term begins: Aug 10, 2015
Term expires: Aug 10, 2021