21st Circuit Judicial Commission

One Post Office Square
815 Olive Street
St. Louis, MO 63101

Phone: (314)-539-4300
Fax: (314)-539-4324

Website: http://www.courts.mo.gov/

Details on Board or Commission

Authority: Article 5, Section 25d

Mission: To select the best qualified applicants for appointment to judgeships in a non-partisan, merit selection process.

Function: The 21st Circuit Commission selects a panel of 3 candidates for judicial office to be forwarded to the Governor.

SubCommittees: www.co.st-louis.mo.us/circuitcourt

Details on Meetings

Number of meetings: variable; depends on judicial vacancies

Location of meetings: Clayton

Duration of meetings: variable

Preparation time for meetings: variable; involves interviewing applicants for judicial vacancies

Total time commitment: variable; could range up to 25 hours or more per vacancy, up to 6 vacancies per year

Details on Members

Total members: 5

Appointed members: 2

Term length:

Compensation: Members receive reimbursement for realized and necessary expenses.

Member Requirements: one member must be the chief judge of the district court of appeals within which the judicial circuit is situated; two members must be elected by the members of the Missouri bar residing in the 21st judicial circuit; two non-bar members must be among the residents of the 21st judicial circuit and be appointed by the governor

Political Requirements: no member other than the judge may hold any public office, and no member shall hold any official position in a political party

Geographic Requirements: lawyer and lay members must reside in St. Louis County

Senate Consent Required: No


The Honorable Lisa S. Van Amburg
Chief Judge of the Court of Appeals - Eastern District
St. Louis

Mr. Al Koller III
Governor Appointed Member 1
Term begins: Feb 20, 2019
Term expires: Dec 31, 2024

Ms. Tiffany Franklin
Governor Appointed Member 2
St. Louis
Term expires: Dec 31, 2022

Mr. Matthew J. Rossiter
Lawyer 1
St. Louis
Term expires: Dec 31, 2017

Mr. Richard Wuestling
Lawyer 2
St. Louis
Term expires: Dec 31, 2015