16th Circuit Judicial Commission

1300 Oak Street
Kansas City, MO 64106-2976

Phone: (816)-889-3600
Fax: (816)-889-3668

Email: 16thCircuit.JudicialVacancy@courts.mo.gov
Website: http://www.courts.mo.gov/

Director: Karen King Mitchell - Chief Judge, Missouri Court of Appeals, W.D., Presently

Details on Board or Commission

Authority: Article 5, Section 25d


Function: The Sixteenth Circuit Judicial Commission nominates 3 persons (lawyers who meet the minimum statutory requirements for service as a judge of the court for which they seek appointment) when a vacancy occurs on the circuit bench. The three names are submitted to the Governor who appoints one of the three to the vacant position. The appointee serves for one year and the voters of the circuit vote to retain or reject the person at the next general election. The term is 6 years as a circuit judge and 4 years as an associate circuit judge.

SubCommittees: none

Details on Meetings

Number of meetings: as needed when a judicial vacancy in the circuit occurs

Location of meetings: Jackson County

Duration of meetings: 1 day

Preparation time for meetings: several hours to review each candidate's application

Total time commitment: as needed

Details on Members

Total members: 5

Appointed members: 2

Term length: 6 years for appointed and elected members

Compensation: none

Member Requirements: 2 members must be lawyers elected by members of the Missouri Bar residing in the circuit; 2 must be laymen appointed by the Governor; and 1 must be the Chief Judge of the Court of Appeals for the appellate district in which the circuit is located

Political Requirements: no

Geographic Requirements: yes, appointed and elected members must reside in the circuit

Senate Consent Required: No


The Honorable Karen King Mitchell
Chief Judge of the Court of Appeals - Western District

Mr. Damon Daniel
Governor Appointed Member 1
Term expires: Dec 31, 2022

Ms. Connie J. Cierpiot
Governor Appointed Member 2
Lee's Summit
Term begins: Jul 22, 2019
Term expires: Dec 31, 2024

Ms. Phyllis Norman
Lawyer 1
Term expires: Dec 31, 2023

Mr. Michael A. Williams
Lawyer 2
Term expires: Dec 31, 2021